Ateneos de Andalucia Associations Almodovar del Río Córdoba

Act of delivery of the XV Gaditano Prize of Law

Literary, Artistic and Scientific Ateneo de Cádiz


On Friday, April 26, the jury of the Gaditan Law Prize met to unanimously grant its fifteenth edition. The Jury was integrated by Julio Cuesta (Honorary President of the Cruzcampo-Heineken Foundation), Luis Gonzalo (4th Vice-president of the Ateneo), Miguel Villanueva (Member of the Board of Directors), José María Esteban (1st Vice-president of the Ateneo), Antonio Ares (Secretary of the Ateneo), Ignacio Moreno (Honorary President of the Ateneo) and José Almenara (President of the Ateneo and Jury).

This year the Prize has fallen to Dª. Carolina Camacho Esteban. Valuing his broad cultural career and the democratic spirit with which he has been able to play the different public positions in which he has participated in his political career. His recognized role in the administration and management of the Cadiz Athenaeum. And a permanent defense of the general interests of Cádiz, from the consensus and the personal generosity highlighted mainly by the Jury.

The Gaditano Law Award was instituted by the Ateneo in 2005 to reward Cadiz or institutions that stood out for the defense of the general interests of the citizens of Cádiz and its Bay. Since then, the different winners have been: Federico Linares, Alfonso Castro, Antonio Vergara, Rafael Barra, Cáritas Diocesanas, Caballeros Hospitalarios and Francisco Súnico, Rvdo. Antonio Ceballos, Teófila Mártinez, Father Luis Castro, Pedro Payán, José Antonio Hernández Guerrero, Francisco González de Posada, Professor Manuel Bustos and last year went to Cádiz journalist Antonio Hernández-Rodicio Romero.

The Prize consists of a sculpture and a Diploma both made and generously donated by the artist Luis Gonzalo.

The award ceremony of the XV Gaditano Law Prize will take place on Friday, May 24 at 8:00 pm in the Provincial Council .

The Laudatio will be offered by Julio Cuesta and will intervene with his speeches, the honoree and José Almenara who will close the event.